Marriage? What exactly is it?

As you may not have realised, I am not married yet, neither have I been in a relationship to say I’m in love. So you are probably sat there wondering ‘why is he writing about marriage?’.

It has been a topic of recent to what does marriage really mean, as in it is just putting a ring or something more than that. From a historical point of view “marriage” has always meant “a man and a woman”, well in western civilisation. In some cases you have polygamy which is more than one wife or husband in one relationship, however it has generally been titled with opposite genders.

It is a ‘Mutual agreement between a man and a woman destined by God’. This of course rooting from Christianity. Recently different views of what it actually is have been changing. For some it has become a tradition as something you ‘just do’ because you like each other and seems sensible to do and invite everyone to witness your special day.

This leads to the importance of wedding vows, almost every culture have wedding vows whether they like it or not. It is one of those things that comes along when you have a wedding day.

‘In joys and in sorrows, until death do we part’, is such a striking image as you are literally submitting yourself to your partner and claiming you will be with them no matter until ‘death do we part’. That is interesting to me as I cannot imagine as a young man saying I’m going to be with this one person for the rest of my life. But when you are in that position it will feel amazing to thing you have the most beautiful person in front of you that you will cherish life and enjoy the rest of your time on earth with.

When vows are broken and things do not end up as well as they should have, it then becomes obvious that you may not have taken the vows to their deep extent. However for many people their circumstances may take them to a level where there is no returning.

One which a lot of people seem to struggle with is ‘in sickness and in health’, when you say it during the wedding it seems easy and logical to go through. But when sickness takes a toll and becomes a burden on your life may not be the same again. People who are able to go through the toughest of this situation are very strong minded and it’s not something that everyone has unfortunately.

As for those, including myself, who hope to be married one day I encourage you to think carefully about who you are marrying and why you are marrying. Would also encourage to actually read the vows for what they truly mean, not just for knowing you ‘have’ to say them. Unfortunately latest statistics (published December 2012) estimate that 42% of marriages in England and Wales end in divorce. It is also estimated that: 34% of marriages are expected to end in divorce by the 20th wedding anniversary.

Now I don’t know about you, but as for me I would not like to be part of that statistic. As for when I’m in this position I hope I will cherish what I have signed myself up for and continue to love that person for the rest of my life. I hope this has enlightened someone out there and will have a great experience of marriage when your time comes!

2 thoughts on “Marriage? What exactly is it?

Leave a Reply

